Pitsylia area lies on the eastern slopes of Troodos
mountain range. Picturesque villages cling to mountainside
amid vineyards, orchards of almond and hazelnut trees and
an astonishing array of wild flowers. Pitsylia area can be
reached either from Lemesos or Lefkosia. From Lemesos one
takes Lemesos-Agios Theodoros-Agros road, or Lemesos-Kato
Amiantos-Karvounas-Kyperounta road. From Lefkosia one
passes through Palaichori-Agros, or through
km North of Lemesos, on the South of Troodos range, off
the center of the village is the small church of Agios
Mamas, built in 1455, with mural paintings signed by
km North of Lemesos, through Agios Theodoros
is the center of the district. A 19th century church now
stands on the site of monastery of Panagia Eleousa,
founded by monks from Constantinople in 9th century.
km South of Lefkosia, on Lefkosia-Agros-Lemesos road, and
15 km from Agros
of "Metamorfosis tou Sotiros", Transfiguration
of Saviour, is an early 16th century chapel on the hill,
overlooking the beautiful old village. Its interior is
completely painted with one of the most accomplished
series of murals of post-Byzantine period in Cyprus.
Church of Panagia Chrysopantanassa built in 16th century,
contains wall paintings. It is the main church of the
Palaichori has an Ecclesiastic Museum, which houses icons
and other consecrated vessels from various churches of the
village, as well as a Struggle Museum in a house, which
once served as a hideout for heroes of the EOKA
Independence Struggle (1955-59). Impressive monument of
"Cypriot Mother" dominates the entire area.
Stavros tou Agiasmati
village, 15 km from Agros, 30 km off Lefkosia-Astromeritis
road, turning left before Peristerona village
15th century church, lying about 3 km outside this
charming old village, retains the most complete cycles of
mural paintings of the second half of 15th century in
Cyprus. Visitors can ask for key from the village priest.
Panagia tou Araka
Lagoudera village is 15 km from Agros or off the
Kakopetria-Troodos-Lemesos road (Karvounas crossroad).
The 12th century church situated just outside the village
has frescoes, which are some of the finest of the late
Comnenian style (c1192) prevailing throughout Greece, the
Balkans and Russia. Together with Asinou church and that
of Agios Nikolaos its Stegis, it is considered to be one
of the most important Byzantine churches on the island.
Visitors can ask for the key and be escorted by the priest
who is to be found in the premises next to the church.