Tomb of Ferdowsi
Tomb of Hakim Abolqasem Ferdowsi Tousi is built in the
West of Tous and adjacent to Razan Gate, in the center of
a pleasant garden. The search to discover the precise
place of Ferdowsi's Tomb took place during the reign of
Nasseredin Shah Qajar and by the order of "Asefodoleh".
In that time, with the help of the people of Khorasan, a
brick construction were placed on his tomb, but a while
later, went to ruin.
In 1926, culture lovers determined to erect a building
worthy to Ferdowsi's reputation. From the offered designs,
one by Taherzadeh Behzad was approved.
The construction ended after 5 years and declared open
during Ferdowsi's Millennia in 1934; later it subsided,
because of non-observance of technical points.
The destruction and renovation of the tomb building began
in 1964. The new construction with the altered internal
space, but similar to the old structure, and inspired by
the Tomb of Cyrus (Achaemenid), ended in 1968.
In the construction of the tomb, Iranian modern and
ancient architectural style struck out. Architectural
style used in outer facades, columns and column tops
follow Achaemenid Art and Culture. Poems, written on the
walls, are a recognition of thought and personage of
Ferdowsi. Internal Architecture is of Parthian period.
Ceiling tiles are of Islamic art and architecture. Wall
decorations are by modern artist "Fereidoun Sediqi",
which are images from "Shah-nameh".
The garden of tomb has an area of 6 hectares. It includes
Tomb of Mehdi Akhavan Sales