Aga Khan Award for Architecture: 2001

Award Steering Committee

H. H. the Aga Khan, chairman
Selma al-Radi, archeologist, Baghdad and New York, Iraq & USA
Charles Correa, architect, Bombay, India
Kenneth Frampton, architect and architectural historian, New York, USA
Frank O. Gehry, architect. Los Angeles, USA
Zaha Hadid, architect, London, England
Luis Monreal, historian and archeologist, Barcelona, Spain
Azim Nanji, professor of religions, London, England
Ali Shuaibi, architect, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Award Master Jury

Darab Diba, architect, Tehran, Iran
Abdou Filali-Ansary, philosopher, Casablanca, Morocco
Dogan Hasol, architect and publisher, Istanbul, Turkey
Mona Hatoum, artist, London, England
Zahi Hawass, archeologist, Cairo, Egypt
ricardo Legoreta, architect, Mexico City and Los Angeles, Mexico & USA
Glen Murcutt, architect, Sydney, Australia
Norani Othman, sociologist, Selangor, Malaysia
Raj Rewal, architect, New Delhi, India

Award Secretariat

Suha Ozkan, Secretary General
Jack Kennedy, Executive Officer
Farrokh Derakhshani, Director of Award Procedures

Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2001

9 Projects received the 2001 Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Geoffrey Bawa to receive Chairman's Award

On 6 November 2001, at a ceremony was held in Syria at the historical Citadel of Aleppo, H. H. Aga Khan announced the nine recipients of the 2001 Aga Khan Award for Architecture and presented a special Chairman's Award to the Sri Lankier architect Geoffrey Bawa. The occasion completed the eighth cycle of the program, which has a triennial prize fund of US$500,000, making it the world's largest architectural award. The Award program will celebrate it 25th anniversary in 2003.
During the current cycle of the Award, 427 projects were presented for consideration, of which 35 were reviewed on-site by outside experts. The Master Jury selected 9 Award recipients as exemplary representations of architecture that enhances the conditions of life. Informing the Jury's evaluation of architectural excellence were issues of environmental sustainability, social equality, cultural and historical heritage and identity and human dignity.
The nine projects selected by the independent Master Jury for the 2001 Award are:
Ferdowsi Garden, Tehran, Iran
- New Life for Old Structures, various locations, Iran
- Olbia Social Center, Antalya, Turkey
- Nubian Museum, Aswan, Egypt
- Ait Iktel, Abadou, Morocco
- Kahere Eila Poultry Farming School, Koliagbe, Guinea
- Datai Hotel, Pulau Langkawi, Malaysia
- Barefoot Architects, Tilonia, India
- SOS Children's Village, Aqaba, Jordan

Report of the 2001 Award Master Jury

The nine members of the Master Jury for the 2001 Aga Khan Award for architecture met twice to select the winners from the 427 project presented. Of those, 35 were reviewed on site by a team of 16 distinguished experts, whose presentations brought the many complex aspects of each project to the Jury's attention.
As it pursued its deliberations, the jury found that a key concern was architecture that could be considered as design dedicated to enhancing conditions of life within diverse communities and groups in Muslim societies. Issues of environmental sustainability, social equality, cultural and historical identity and human dignity also informed the Jury's decisions.
Some of the projects are organized to encourage disadvantaged communities to advance their conditions by increasing productivity, improving their built environment and sharing access to modern culture and communication.
Joint efforts by people, who benefit from the modern economy and those who have remained in rural conditions have made it possible to reverse the constant flow of migration and the concomitant depletion of local human resources and deterioration of environmental and living conditions. Some projects respond to educational needs, such as preserving the life and culture of an ancient civilization, while others provide instruction in techniques of animal production to enrich diet and nutrition.
The Jury also considered the positive role of tourism in modern economies in the context of architecture that respects the environment and introduces local culture within the built work, Projects that secure the future of superb historical buildings within towns and that  create new parks for urban communities also represent important inclusions in the Jury's decisions. Public, industrial and religious buildings, as well as conservation projects, were also considered, but none met the standard expected of this award.


Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Shopping Center

Top of page          


Privacy Policy   Terms Of Service   Affiliate Us   Partners   Advertise   Advertise with us   About us   Contact Us
Copyright All rights reserved.